Disaster Preparedness

These following links are designed to guide you through the basic steps of preparing for a local or area-wide disaster, as well as executing the necessary actions to stay alive during and after a major catastrophe.

ASSUMPTIONS

There are some assumptions that citizens must be aware of when a disaster strikes. These assumptions are:

  1. Fire, police, medical and ambulance services may be unable to respond to residential and industrial areas for at least 72 hours following a major catastrophe, because roadways generally may be impassable.
  2. Hospitals may be full to overflowing with victims from the immediate vicinity who can reach these medical facilities by walking or by driving extremely short distances.
  3. Material needs, such as water, food, blankets, etc., will not be available from local or federal government sources for at least 72 hours after the disaster occurs.
  4. Electrical power, natural gas, water, sewer and telephone services may be virtually or completely unavailable.
  5. If the family home is unable to provide structurally safe shelter, move in with friends, setup shelter outside the home, or possibly, if conditions allow you to get there, move into a motel.

MORE INFORMATION

CalOES - 10 Ways to Prepare

FEMA - Are You Ready? An In-Depth Guide to Citizen Preparedness

Department of Homeland Security - Make a Kit

Department of Homeland Security - Make A Plan

American Red Cross - Survival Kit

FEMA - Preparing for Disaster for People with Disabilities and other Special Needs

Pets and Disaster

FEMA - Protect Your Property from Flooding

Home Quake Safety

Contact Fire Department

Fire Chief

Chad Thompson
Fire Chief
cthompson@dinuba.ca.gov

 

Contact Information

Fire Department
496 E Tulare St
Dinuba, CA 93618

Main Office: (559) 591-5931
Fax: (559)-591-5934

Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

 

Staff

Sean Doyle
Battalion Chief
sdoyle@dinuba.ca.gov

Greg Chastain
Fire Captain
gchastain@dinuba.ca.gov

Jordan Webster
Fire Captain
jwebster@dinuba.ca.gov

Sam Febres
Fire Captain
sfebres@dinuba.ca.gov

Jose Lopez
Fire Inspector
joselopez@dinuba.ca.gov

Michelle Pattillo
Administrative Assistant
mpattillo@dinuba.ca.gov